Total membership in the Organization includes 98 states and six associate members. The Organization is made up of three principal organs—the General Conference, which is the policy-making body, the Executive Board and the Secretariat. Representatives from member states make up the General Conference which meets every two years to consider applications for membership, elect the Executive Board, plan the program and approve the budget for the ensuing two-year period. The last General Conference was held at the Headquarters of the Organization in Paris in November and December 1960. (See also Section 4 of Part II of the Education and Research Chapter of this volume.)

International Civil Aviation Organization.—The International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), with headquarters in Montreal, is the only Specialized Agency of the United Nations with headquarters in Canada. Canada has been a member of the 21-nation Council, which has sat in almost continuous session in Montreal, since ICAO was provisionally established in 1945. Since 1959 Mr. R. M. Macdonnell, a Canadian who was formerly Deputy Under-Secretary in the Department of External Affairs, has been Secretary-General of ICAO. (See also the item "International Air Agreements", Section 1, Part V of the Transportation Chapter of this volume.)

World Meteorological Organization.—Canada is a member of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO), a Specialized Agency of the United Nations since 1951 but developed from the International Meteorological Organization which was founded in 1878. During the year Mr. P. D. McTaggart-Cowan, Director of Meteorological Services, Department of Transport, was elected to the Executive Committee of WMO and attended the 12th session of the Executive Committee held in WMO's new headquarters building in Geneva in the summer of 1960. The Commission for Maritime Meteorology, one of the subsidiary bodies of WMO, held its fourth session in Utrecht, Holland, in August. Canada was represented by the Vice-President of the Commission, Mr. K. T. McLeod of the Department of Transport.

International Telecommunication Union.—Canada is a member of the International Telecommunication Union (ITU), a Specialized Agency of the United Nations, which traces its origin to the International Telegraph Convention of 1865 and the International Radio Telegraph Convention of 1906. During 1960, the Administrative Council of the ITU met in Geneva in the summer and the International Telegraph and Telephone Consultative Committee, one of the two international consultative committees of the ITU, met in New Delhi, India, late in the year; Canada was represented at both meetings.

Intergovernmental Maritime Consultative Organization.—Canada, as a member of the Intergovernmental Maritime Consultative Organization (IMCO), with headquarters in London, England, sent a large delegation to the International Conference convened in London under IMCO auspices in the early summer of 1960 to amend the International Convention on Safety of Life at Sea, 1948. Canada was one of the countries that signed, subject to ratification, the 1960 Convention, which, when ratified by a sufficient number of countries, will replace the 1948 Convention. In addition, Canada, as a member of the IMCO Council and of the Maritime Safety Committee of IMCO, attended meetings of these subsidiary bodies of IMCO held in London during the year,

The International Monetary Fund.—The International Monetary Fund, set up by the Bretton Woods Conference of 1944, came into being in 1945. It provides machinery for international consultation and collaboration on monetary, payments and exchange problems. Included in these purposes are the promotion of exchange stability, the elimination of exchange restrictions, the establishment of a multilateral system of current payments and the expansion and balanced growth of international trade. Also, member countries under certain conditions may draw on the resources of the Fund, which now amount to some \$14,000,000,000. Canada has been represented on the Fund's Board of Executive Directors since 1945.